The Centre includes four Australian universities (the “Collaborating Parties), each of which forms a Research Node. Across the nodes there are currently 15 Chief Investigators, CIs, (7 at ANU, 2 at UWA, 1 at UQ, and 5 at USyd). The ANU node spans two separate Schools, the John Curtin School of Medical Research (JCSMR, 1 CI), and the Research School of Biology (RSB, 6 CIs).

The structure of the of the Centre is given below:


The governing body of the Centre is the Executive Committee. This body meets regularly, to discuss overall centre-related issues, to oversee operations of the Centre, to review the Centre’s performance, and to make decisions on strategic and financial matters such as allocation of funds. The Research Director of the Centre chairs the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee receives advice and assistance from the Advisory Board on strategic issues. The Board meets at least annually to assess the progress of the Centre against its Key Performance Indicators and to assist in developing future strategies.

Click on the tabs to see the Memberships of the Executive Committee and the Advisory Board.

Professor Ted Maddess (Chair) Research Director
Chair of Executive Committee
Professor Jan Provis Chief Investigator
Theme Leader

Associate Director

Professor Mandyam Srinivasan AM Chief Investigator
Theme Leader

Node Representative

Professor Dao-Yi Yu Chief Investigator

Node Representative

Professor Paul Martin Chief Investigator

Node Representative

Mr Adnan Syed Muhammad Chief Operations Officer ANU


Ms Anne Trimmer (Chair) CEO, Medical Technology Association of Australia
Professor Tin Aung Senior Consultant and Head, Glaucoma Service, Singapore National Eye Centre; Deputy Director, Singapore Eye Research Institute; Professor, Dept of Ophthalmology, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Professor Dana Ballard Professor, Computer Science, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Mr Graeme Banks OAM President, Retina Australia, Australia
Professor Mike Calford Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Newcastle, Australia
Professor Sarah Dunlop President of the Australian Neuroscience Society and Research Fellow of the School of Animal Biology, UWA, Australia
A/Professor Ivan Goldberg Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Sydney; Head, Glaucoma Unit and Visiting Ophthalmologist, Sydney Eye Hospital; Director, Eye Associates, Sydney, Australia
Professor John Marshall Frost Professor of Ophthalmology, Institute of Ophthalmology, University College London, UK
Professor Hugh Taylor AC Harold Mitchell Chair of Indigenous Eye Health, University of Melbourne, Australia
Dr Alex Zelinsky Group Executive, Information Sciences, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia
Professor Lawrence Cram Deputy Vice-Chancellor, ANU, Australia
Professor Ted Maddess Centre Director, The Vision Centre, ANU, Australia
Professor Jan Provis Theme Leader and Associate Director, The Vision Centre, ANU, Australia
Professor Mandyam Srinivasan AM Theme Leader, The Vision Centre, UQ, Australia


Australian Government ARCANUUQUniversity of SydneyUWAUNIMELB